UK comparison
Best red light therapy hats in the UK (2026)
Four red light hats sold in the UK, compared on published specs, coverage, clinical evidence, prices, warranties and reviews.
The figures come from each brand’s own page, checked in October 2026, and from the sham-controlled research on red light for pattern hair loss.
We compare hats on wavelengths, published output, coverage, session time, published clinical evidence, UK price, warranty and returns. How we review.
How we compared these hats
We compared wavelengths, published output, coverage, session time, published clinical evidence, UK price, warranty and returns.
- Wavelengths The nanometres each manufacturer prints on its product page.
- Published output The power figure on the product page, in the units the brand uses.
- Coverage The coverage figure each brand publishes, or “Not stated” when the page does not give one.
- Session time The session length printed on the product page.
- Published clinical evidence The study, series or survey the brand itself describes for that device.
- UK price The price on the brand’s own UK page in October 2026.
- Warranty The warranty terms this guide has recorded, or a pointer to the brand’s UK page.
- Returns The returns terms this guide has recorded, or a pointer to the brand’s UK page.
Quick verdict
The RedLight Innovation Hat Pro is our best overall pick at £372. It is a soft cap with a published 54–62 cm fit, and it names 615, 635 and 650 nm, plus 450 nm blue. Coverage is about 80%, the panel is 500 mW, and a session is 15 minutes. Research suggests red light may help with pattern hair loss with consistent use over months.
The four hats
Image: RedLight Innovation
Available. Checked October 2026
- Form
- Hat with a lift-out panel
- Wavelengths
- 615, 635, 650 nm red, plus 450 nm blue
- Output
- 500 mW panel
- Session
- 15 minutes
- Fit
- 54–62 cm
Image: Beauty Pie
Out of stock. Checked October 2026
- Form
- Cotton cap, removable panel
- Wavelengths
- 655 nm red
- Output
- 20 mW/cm² at the surface
- Session
- 10 minutes
- Fit
- Not stated
Image: HigherDOSE
Available. Checked October 2026
- Form
- Cordless cap
- Wavelengths
- 650 nm red
- Output
- 5 mW/cm²
- Session
- 10 minutes
- Fit
- Flexible sizing
Image: CurrentBody
Out of stock. Checked 18 October 2026
- Form
- Helmet with Bluetooth audio
- Wavelengths
- 620–660 nm red
- Output
- Not stated
- Session
- 10 minutes
- Fit
- M 54–58.9 cm, L 59–63.5 cm
Prices checked October 2026. Specs are from each brand’s product page.
| Device | Price | Form | Wavelengths | Output | Session | Fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RedLight Innovation Hat Pro Best overall Available. Checked October 2026 | £372 | Hat with a lift-out panel | 615, 635, 650 nm red, plus 450 nm blue | 500 mW panel | 15 minutes | 54–62 cm |
| Beauty Pie All Systems Grow Best budget Out of stock. Checked October 2026 | £332 | Cotton cap, removable panel | 655 nm red | 20 mW/cm² at the surface | 10 minutes | Not stated |
| HigherDOSE Red Light Hat Best cordless cap Available. Checked October 2026 | £449 | Cordless cap | 650 nm red | 5 mW/cm² | 10 minutes | Flexible sizing |
| CurrentBody LED Hair Growth Helmet Best premium helmet Out of stock. Checked 18 October 2026 | £649.99 | Helmet with Bluetooth audio | 620–660 nm red | Not stated | 10 minutes | M 54–58.9 cm, L 59–63.5 cm |
The Hat Pro product page says about 80% coverage. CurrentBody describes a full-head helmet. HigherDOSE publishes 120 LEDs at 650 nm, and Beauty Pie publishes 125 LEDs at 655 nm.
How do the four hats compare?
Swipe to compare →
| Compared on | RedLight Innovation RedLight Innovation Hat Pro | Beauty Pie Beauty Pie All Systems Grow | HigherDOSE HigherDOSE Red Light Hat | CurrentBody CurrentBody LED Hair Growth Helmet |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wavelengths | 615, 635, 650 nm red, plus 450 nm blue | 655 nm red | 650 nm red | 620–660 nm red |
| Published output | 500 mW panel | 20 mW/cm² at the surface | 5 mW/cm² | Not stated |
| Coverage | About 80% | Not stated | Not stated | Full-head design |
| Session time | 15 minutes | 10 minutes | 10 minutes | 10 minutes |
| Published clinical evidence | Brand’s 6-person series | Brand says this cap was not the device in the studies | 28-person user survey | 31-person study summary |
| UK price | £372 | £332 | £449 | £649.99 |
| Warranty | 1 year if registered within 7 days | On the brand’s UK page | On the brand’s UK page | On the brand’s UK page |
| Returns | 90-day guarantee after the quiz, photos and a trichologist review | On the brand’s UK page | On the brand’s UK page | On the brand’s UK page |
The RedLight study
RedLight Innovation’s own page describes a series of 6 volunteers, 3 men and 3 women, using the hat for 15 minutes a day for 90 days. The brand says the series finished in August 2024. It does not describe a control group. Read the study page.
What do buyers say on the brand’s website?
These quotes are customer reviews on RedLight Innovation’s own website. They are not reviews by this guide.
The lights are extremely bright and the quality of the hat is probably the best I have felt ever. It feels really well made and comfortable to wear, and you can tell a lot of thought has gone into the design.
I'm not sure if its hugely noticeable but I feel it has definitely helped
I mixed my treatment with 5% minoxidil foam everyday… These are my progress pics after 85 days and I'm so happy with the way my hair is looking already.
Which other hats are worth considering?
Beauty Pie is the budget cap, HigherDOSE is the cordless cap, and CurrentBody is the premium helmet. The Hat Pro card stays highlighted because it is the best overall.
Swipe →
What should a red light hat include?
A useful red light hat names its wavelengths, its published output, how much of the scalp the light reaches, and a session time. The Hat Pro lists 615, 635 and 650 nm, plus 450 nm blue. It also publishes a 54–62 cm fit, about 80% coverage, a 500 mW panel and a 15-minute session, at £372.
Research suggests red light may help with pattern hair loss when you use it consistently over months. Hair-density studies mostly use red light around 630–680 nm, which covers the Hat Pro’s 635 and 650 nm. Blue light and near-infrared are different claims. These four product pages list red wavelengths, and the Hat Pro also lists 450 nm blue.
Which hat should you buy if you want something else?
Choose CurrentBody for a rigid helmet, HigherDOSE for a cordless cap, or Beauty Pie for the lowest list price. Measure your head first. The Hat Pro’s 54–62 cm range is a published cap fit. CurrentBody splits medium and large either side of about 59 cm.
HigherDOSE is the cordless 10-minute cap, at £449. Beauty Pie is the lowest list price, at £332, with 655 nm red light. CurrentBody’s UK page listed the helmet as out of stock when checked on 18 October 2026. Beauty Pie’s UK page listed the cap as out of stock when checked in October 2026. Laser caps from brands such as HairMax and Capillus appear in the research.
The longer checklist is the buying guide. LED or laser explains the difference in the light itself.
Does red light therapy work for hair loss?
For pattern hair loss, the pooled trials found more hair, on average, with a real red light or low-level laser device than with a sham that looked the same but did not emit the light. Liu and colleagues reported that pattern in sham-controlled trials. Studies usually look at 16 to 26 weeks. They do not all agree on how big the change is.
If your shedding is sudden, patchy, or comes with illness, see a GP before you buy a device. The NHS asks for that conversation before a commercial clinic. The numbers, and how minoxidil compares, are on the evidence page and in red light or minoxidil.
When did the studies measure a change?
The stronger sham-controlled trials counted hairs at about 16 to 26 weeks. Brand pages cite 84 days, 90 days, or 12 to 24 weeks.
- 84 days
CurrentBody’s 31-person study measured out to 84 days. The summary does not describe a sham helmet.
- 90 days
RedLight Innovation’s challenge is about 13 weeks, on the early side of the longer trials. Its own feature follows six people.
- 12–24 weeks
Beauty Pie’s footnote puts the studies it cites in this range. The brand says those studies were not of this cap.
- 16–26 weeks
The stronger sham-controlled trials counted hairs over a few months, not over a weekend.
- After 20 weeks
Perez and colleagues found a larger average difference in studies longer than 20 weeks (SMD 1.44) than in shorter ones (SMD 1.14).
- 6 months
A 2024 trial compared a 633 nm light protocol with 5% minoxidil in men. Both groups gained density. The difference between them was not significant.
Common questions
What is the best red light therapy hat for hair growth in the UK?
The RedLight Innovation Hat Pro, at £372. It lists 125 diodes at 615, 635 and 650 nm, plus 450 nm blue. Coverage is about 80%, the panel is 500 mW, the fit is 54–62 cm, and a session is 15 minutes.
Do these hats use near-infrared light?
No. The Hat Pro product page lists red plus 450 nm blue. CurrentBody lists 620–660 nm red. HigherDOSE lists 650 nm. Beauty Pie lists 655 nm.
Are red light therapy hats available on the NHS?
No. You buy them yourself. The NHS hair-loss page talks about minoxidil and, for men, finasteride. It does not offer a red light cap.
How long does red light therapy take to work?
Research suggests red light may help with pattern hair loss when people use it consistently over months. The better studies count hairs at about 16 to 26 weeks. Some people see no change.
Can I use a hat with minoxidil?
The trials do not agree that adding light to minoxidil beats minoxidil alone. Minoxidil is a medicine, and the NHS says it only works while you use it. Ask a GP or pharmacist before you combine them.
What does the 90-day money-back guarantee require?
The suitability quiz, progress photos and a review by the brand’s trichologist. The warranty is one year if you register within 7 days.
Sources
- RedLight Hat Pro product page — £372, 615, 635 and 650 nm plus 450 nm blue, 125 diodes, 500 mW, about 80% coverage, 15 minutes, 54–62 cm.
- CurrentBody Skin LED Hair Growth Helmet — £649.99, 120 red LEDs, 620–660 nm, 10 minutes, two sizes.
- HigherDOSE Red Light Hat, UK page — £449, 120 LEDs, 650 nm, 5 mW/cm², 10 minutes.
- Beauty Pie All Systems Grow LED cap — £332, 125 LEDs, 655 nm, 20 mW/cm² at the surface.
- NHS: Hair loss
- Liu and colleagues, 2019 meta-analysis — Sham-controlled trials of low-level laser therapy and hair density.
- RedLight Innovation: the 90-day study — The brand’s own write-up of 6 volunteers, 15 minutes a day, finishing August 2024.
- RedLight Innovation: 90-day money-back guarantee — Suitability quiz, progress photos and a trichologist review.
- RedLight Innovation warranty — 1-year warranty if you register within 7 days.
- RedLight Innovation shipping — Free UK next-day delivery from Kent.
- RedLight Innovation trichologist consultation — Free consultation. The brand lists Celestine Gitau, Institute of Trichologists no. 583.
- RedLight Innovation customer reviews — Customer reviews on the brand’s own website.
- RedLight Innovation contact — Email and WhatsApp support.
- RedLight Innovation hair check page — The brand’s comparison: minoxidil £900 and prescriptions £720 over three years, against £372 once.